Twenty-eight J/70 teams qualified to win the 2022-2023 J/70 Winter Series at Davis Island Yacht Club in Tampa, Florida by competing in at least two of the three weekends with the same boat and skipper. Brian Keane’s Savasana again found himself atop the Series leaderboard with crew Thomas Barrows, Ron Weed and Conner Harding. Cate Muller Terhune’s Casting Couch was in the runner-up position, followed by Sean O’Brien’s McFly. Multi-US Corinthian National Champions aboard USA1516 exceled in the amateur division with David Kerr, Lee Sackett, Mike Booker and Erica Trejo. Many teams also participated in the One Pro and Mixed+ Divisions. Winners: Peter Bowe’s Tea Dance Snake and John Koten’s Planet Claire, respectively. The final weekend on Tampa Bay saw beautiful conditions, with winds Saturday at 15-18 knots (lighter on Sunday), blue skies and temperatures in the 70s. The weekend winner amongst the 55 boats was Level 5, including Al Minella, Greiner Hobbs, Will Felder and Robert Tanner. The popular DIYC J/70 Winter Series spans three weekends of racing between early December and February, allowing participants to store their boats onsite for a reasonable fee. Additionally, on each Friday of the Series, SAIL22 led the Porch Series to offer practice races and coaching. Saturday evening debriefs were held with the day’s top performers, while sailors enjoyed snacks and beverages together. Photos are available on the USA J/70 Class Facebook page. and complete results for DIYC #3 may be found at

Comments are closed.