Forty-eight J/70 teams qualified to win the 2019-2020 J/70 Winter Series at Davis Island Yacht Club in Tampa, Florida by competing in at least two of the three weekends with the same boat and skipper. For the third consecutive year, Brian Keane’s Savasana is Series Champion. Keane’s crew included Nic Baird, Christian Koules and Conner Harding. The Corinthian division was won by Peter Firey’s Phoenix with team of Timothy Mangus, Michael McNamara and Eric Mentzell. Joshua Goldman’s Building A finished second overall for the Series, followed by Will Welles’ Bribona in third. The final weekend on Tampa Bay saw perfect conditions, with winds Sunday at 10-15 knots (slightly lighter on Saturday), blue skies and temperatures in the 70s. The weekend winner was the Corinthian team on Key Player, including Eddie Keller, Wade Waddell, Chris Keller and Peter Lynn. The popular DIYC J/70 Winter Series spans three weekends of racing between early December and February, allowing participants to store their boats onsite for a reasonable fee. Additionally, on each Friday of the Series, SAIL22 led the Porch Series to offer practice races and coaching. Photos are available on the USA J/70 Class Facebook page, and event details may be found at

Comments are closed.